University Presbyterian Church

UPC is a congregation committed to honoring God by touching lives through worship, fellowship and service. As a part of the Reformed Protestant tradition, our focus is upon ministering to those in the community as well as encouraging the spiritual growth of members. Worship is the cornerstone of our faith, from which comes a warm fellowship and enthusiastic service to others beyond the walls of the church.

UPC was founded downtown in 1903 as Westminster Presbyterian Church of El Paso. In 1950, when the church was relocated near the university the current name was adopted, and in 1973 the congregation moved to its present location. Over the years, UPC has emerged as a congregation that is eager to explore new ideas and opportunities for service in its commitment to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

You are cordially invited to experience the spirit of cooperation and tolerance which has long characterized UPC and provides a strong foundation upon which people of all ages, backgrounds and perspectives regularly join together in worship, study, fellowship and service.

Church Leadership

Current Governing Elder Board

Jim Gilbertson, Isabel Goode, Carol Eastman, Jane Nicholson, Tomas Velasquez, Susanne Hobson, Lee Cannel, Miguel Cheng-Guajardo, Nola Anderson

Current Deacons

Amanda Ozer, Gayle Boggs, Jackie Lyon, Jerry Hobson, Mary Gaul, Mercedes Fuentes, Becky Nelsen

UPC Staff

Rev. Dr. John Nelsen


Rev. Tim Gray


Jinny Forbes

Director of Christian Education

Susan Guard

Administrative Assistant

Maureen Keton

Choir Director

Julian Dominguez

Band Director